Work in progress: H

As some of you may remember, few months ago, I was looking for men to participate in my new photographic project. The criteria were strict, the outcome – vague: you needed to 1) have or be willing to grow a mustache 2) be prepared to shave it in a shape I would ask you to 3) be ready to be photographed with your new look in a place that has significance to you.

Since then, I received numerous messages (mainly from curious ladies, rather than gentlemen willing to take part), asking about the project, so I decided to share first results, partially to satisfy your curiosity, partially to get feedback on the work in its early stages.

Basically, I am interested to explore how some visual features become associated with a certain historical figure and what are the boundaries outside of which this is no longer true. For that purpose, I chose Hitler and his iconic mustache and invited men of different ages and cultural and social background to pose for a portrait…

M., Sri Lanka

M., Sri Lanka

M., Poland

M., Poland

This is an ongoing project and I am interested in both, your feedback and willingness to take part, so leave comment below or get in touch via e-mail.

About Tina Remiz

I am a documentary storyteller and visual artist of Latvian origin, currently based in the UK's capital.

2 comments

  1. Maciek

    There is something about these photographs that makes me come back and look at them again and again. Maybe, because I am a subject in one of them and I have a particular feeling about them, but to me there is some kind of sadness in them. Do you read it same as me…?

    • First and foremost, thanks for thank part Maciek!
      It’s an interesting point, especially since you know better than anyone else that I never ASKED you to look said, but rather relax and be yourself. If truth be told, I think stripped of emotions, people often look a bit sad, as of bare and more vulnerable than when they put a mask on…
      What do you think?

Leave a Reply

