Centrepoint Collective: Susana Sanroman

I was invited to join Centrepoint Collective in the fall of 2012, so to kick-start my interVIEW section on my blog, I decided to profile my fellow members. The first featured artist is Spanish photographer Susana Sanroman:

Please introduce yourself and your practice:

My artistic practice is a bit eclectic; I am a very curious person with many interests, but certain themes tend to reoccur in my work. A fundamental theme of my practice is identity: identity and gender, individual and collective identity, identity of the memories, reconstruction of the self and the female gaze… Throughout my working practice, I also explore the ideas of time and process: sequences, series, time-base pieces, repetition, time layering and so on, image de-fragmentation and multi-layering.

Double Face

Double Face

How do you find your inspiration?

Most of the time, it comes while falling asleep on a bus – public transport does it for me!
We consume such a great amount of information every day, and our ‘conscious’ brains are not able to process/access it. I guess, when we disconnect from our daily activities and worries, it is the time when inspiration comes to life, working to collect all the bits that fall into oblivion while we were conscious.

golden cage

Favorite piece of equipment:

I really don’t have a favorite piece of equipment, since I love experimenting with different formats and mediums. Photography means ‘writing with light’, so I tend not to limit myself and my practice. Focusing on creative process itself and exploring the different options is what I really enjoy.

Oblivion

Oblivion

If you could photograph anyone, who would it be?

Alive: Madonna; dead: Claude Cahun or Ingmar Bergman

I know, a very random choice of people…

About Tina Remiz

I am a documentary storyteller and visual artist of Latvian origin, currently based in the UK's capital.

Leave a Reply

