Centrepoint Collective: Roxana Allison

As I continue featuring interviews with Centrepoint Collective members, next on the stage is Mexican-British photographic artist Roxana Allison:

Please introduce yourself and your practice:

I started my photographic practice almost by chance. Whilst studying Fine Art, I was required to sign up to two workshops, so I chose printmaking and photography. It didn’t take long for me to fall in love with the latter.

I embraced (and still do to some extent) its immediacy and freedom. From then onwards, I have focused on themes of identity, migration, cultural displacement and memory. I also feel very keen to document social movements, especially demonstrations – this is the topic that started off my photographic practice – I document them because I believe its important to preserve historical moments in a certain place and time for future generations.

Holly

How do you find your inspiration?

One of my main drives to photograph is memory; I want to be able to preserve something tangible of my place and time. I find inspiration by trying to understand the environment I live in, its landscape, its culture and how I feel in it.

I also find inspiration by looking at other photographers work and by watching films. If I feel like saying something, most of the time, I will do it through photography.

Tunnel

Favorite piece of equipment:

I don’t have a favorite piece of equipment, but I tend to keep things simple, so I use whatever I feel comfortable with. That works for me!

feetnpetals

If you could photograph anyone, who would it be?

I would photograph someone, who has caused an impression on me. At the moment, I would say that I would love to photograph the musician Sixto Rodriguez. I watched his documentary the other day and have been listening to his music non-stop ever since.

Naomi Klein, Sub-Comandante Marcos and Ken Loach would also be on my list. I have others in mind, but my mind has gone blank, typical!

About Tina Remiz

I am a documentary storyteller and visual artist of Latvian origin, currently based in the UK's capital.

Leave a Reply

