Flat Earth News

Only few months ago some of you may have heard my complains about wanting to do more editorial photography because magazines are the best platforms for uncovering the truth. This was until a friend, smiling misteriousely, passed me the Flat Earth News book and said: ‘Read this, then think again’.

There is enough revealing facts and statistics that will make you feel outraged or amused or both at the same time. I laughed out loud (often through tears) at some quotes and wanted to scream at the top of my voice at some other. Nick Davies gathers information with such persistence and presents it so elegantly, there is really little point in me trying to summarise the brilliance of 400 pages in a single blog post. This is not a review, but a friendly recommendation to my colleagues and a respectful bow to the author of the book.

p.s. some of you warned me agains mentioning this book in fear of ruining my career, so I will clarify it briefly: I still do and enjoy some editorial commissions and have a great respect for the individuals and teams behind many periodical publications, but I choose the stories that fit the format. There are great many stories that can be unveiled on a magazine page and there are great many that can’t. This book might help you get an idea of which are which.

About Tina Remiz

I am a documentary storyteller and visual artist of Latvian origin, currently based in the UK's capital.

Leave a Reply

