Consuming Culture

I have been on the road pretty much constantly since the start of this year (not that I’m complaining), so it feels like a nice break to spend nearly a month back on the island. I never appreciate London enough when I stay here for a long stretch of time, but only realise how much I love it having spent some time away.

On return, I try to take a day-off to cycle down the narrow streets of East London, have a picnic in Hackney Marshes, go treasure-hunting in Stokes Newington’s second-hand stores and, of course, catch up on all the brilliant exhibitions and performances that the capital never fails to deliver. I buy theatre tickets in packs (I’m currently trying to resist booking a ticket for the 7th performance in three weeks, mainly because I only have one free evening left this month!), do exhibition marathons, read books and watch movies like there is no tomorrow, consuming culture like a child lolly-pops!

So what is on my list?

Annual photographic prize with a tongue-twisting name, Deutsche Borse 2014 went on display at The Photographers Gallery last week. Four shortlisted artists present eclectic mix of themes and styles and while Lorna Simpson’s creative career appears most worthy of an award, the most interesting project on display is The Enclave by Richard Mosse:

Richard Mosse: The Enclave

Richard Mosse: The Enclave

Not so well-publicised, but no less thought-provoking is the exhibition of contemporary Iranian photography titled Burnt Generation on display at Somerset House. It features work by Gohar Dashti, Ali and Ramyar, Azadeh Akhlaghi and Newsha Tavakolian among others:

Gohar Dashti: Iran, Untitled

Gohar Dashti: Iran, Untitled

Newsha Tavakolian: Look

Newsha Tavakolian: Look

Other shows on my list include Welcome to Iraq in South London Gallery, A Year in Development retrospective at Labyrinth Photographic, Mona Kuhn‘s and Esther Teichmann‘s exhibitions at Flower Gallery and David Bailey’s retrospective at the National Portrait Gallery (if I manage to catch the show before seeing Boris Eifman’s Rodin at London Coliseum tonight). Anything I’m missing?

About Tina Remiz

I am a documentary storyteller and visual artist of Latvian origin, currently based in the UK's capital.

Leave a Reply

