New Yorkers, what do we have in common?

During a recent trip to New York, I decided to continue working on the project that I started at Foundry workshop in Guatemala this summer, with plans to make the work global. Titled What do we have in common?, the project is based around a simple concept that we learn new things by drawing parallels with what we already know. Therefore, to understand a new culture, I looked for similarities that I can relate to, asking New Yorkers from different walks of life to tell me their stories and find one thing that we have in common:

WhatDoWeHaveinCommon01

WhatDoWeHaveinCommon05

WhatDoWeHaveinCommon06

WhatDoWeHaveinCommon08

WhatDoWeHaveinCommon04

WhatDoWeHaveinCommon03

WhatDoWeHaveinCommon07

Encouraged by an editor to “go deeper” and look for more personal experiences or beliefs, I was fascinated how many strangers were willing to open up and tell me their stories! It was equally interesting to see how people describe themselves and how they approach a deliberately open question: “Tell me about yourself”.

What’s more, I find the process a lot more liberating and the results – fair, since, unlike many documentary stories put subject into the spotlight, if I choose to expose any intimate secrets of the people who trusted me, I had to be prepared to admit we share them first.

You can now find the full edit of the project, combining images from Antigua and New York, on my website.

About Tina Remiz

I am a documentary storyteller and visual artist of Latvian origin, currently based in the UK's capital.

6 comments

  1. Great, Tina, and the questions are going much deeper now. And the photos are very interesting! good for you!!!!!

  2. Many thank for the feedback and ongoing support Maggie!

  3. We would love to post a couple of the pictures and your text at toemail if you do not mind? http://toemail.wordpress.com

  4. Reblogged this on LightSparks and commented:
    One of the three featured photographers on LightSparks is Tina Remiz. She has won the Mentoring Programme Best in Show: Tina Remiz “Night Workers”. Link to her page: https://www.facebook.com/youngphotographersalliance/photos/?tab=album&album_id=210833342317854

Leave a Reply

