Looking for similarities in Marrakech

January is the dullest month of the year – cold, dark and boring – which is why I decided to start 2015 with a trip to Morocco. This wasn’t a typical holiday, as I brought quite a bit of work and the whole library with me (most of it, obviously, also made the journey back, unopened). I deliberately wanted to focus on researching future projects rather than shooting new work, with an exception of the ongoing project What do we have in common? which I try to carry on in every new place I visit.

Moroccan culture wasn’t the easiest for me to work in, as I often struggled to explain what was doing and had few people taking my invitation to participate in the project in a REALLY WRONG way. Still, I met some wonderful people (half of them were the staff of Riad Bik hostel, which was the highlight of my journey and the only reason I actually spent the whole month there), had few truly inspiring conversations and, through learning more about the people of Marrakech, made few discoveries about my own self:

WhatDoWeHaveinCommonMrk01

WhatDoWeHaveinCommonMrk02 WhatDoWeHaveinCommonMrk03

WhatDoWeHaveinCommonMrk04 WhatDoWeHaveinCommonMrk05 WhatDoWeHaveinCommonMrk06 WhatDoWeHaveinCommonMrk07 WhatDoWeHaveinCommonMrk08

You can now find the full edit of the project, including images from Antigua and New York, on my website.

About Tina Remiz

I am a documentary storyteller and visual artist of Latvian origin, currently based in the UK's capital.

2 comments

  1. I like the second photo — nice shot! It made sense to me, after I saw the full edit. The link to the Riad is probably not working.

    • Thanks a lot for the useful feedback! The work is still ongoing, but it’s interesting to think what works best.
      The link seems to work for me – maybe it’s country-specific?

Leave a Reply

